Today is bittersweet.

This is Little Dude’s last day at the childcare/preschool he has attended ever since he was eighteen months old.

Of course, I have my reasons for switching schools.  Little Dude will be starting a pre-kindergarten class at a “big boy school” where he will thrive, I know.  And he will move from the pre-k class right into the kindergarten and elementary education program at this school.

But today — today is a goodbye.

A goodbye to the only school setting we have known, a goodbye to the teachers who have provided such wonderful and dependable childcare ever since Little Dude was a toddler.

Today is bittersweet because I know we’re making a good decision and moving to a wonderful school, but we’re leaving our comfort zone behind.


We have been preparing Little Dude for this transition for a while.  He has picked out a Buzz Lightyear backpack and a Buzz Lightyear lunch box, and we’ve been driving past the new school everyday for the past week.  He is incredibly excited for this new adventure to begin on Monday.

Me, on the other hand, I have enough anxiety for everyone.  I’m worried about Little Dude making this transition ok (even though I know he’ll be fine), I’m worried about making new friends (for both of us!), I’m worried about making sure we stay in touch with all the families we have grown so close to at this school we are leaving.

I’m excited but nervous, very happy with the choices we’ve made but apprehensive about how everything will fall into place.

A bittersweet day.

Guilt Goddess says: Trust your instincts and go with your gut.  You know this is a very good decision and a week or two from now, you’ll wonder why you ever had these worries in the first place.

